RSS

Cherry’s Apology & Other Stuff

17 Oct

Don Cherry did something quite rare on Saturday night. He apologized and admitted he was wrong. I’m sure it was very hard for Don to come out and do this but he probably saw the writing on the wall. At this point, Cherry is quickly losing credibility and relevance. His style of hockey is starting to fall by the wayside and he’s afraid to see that happen.

Cherry has become a national celebrity by exploiting fights and hits of questionable nature. If those go away, Cherry will have little to sell when it comes to DVD’s and his rock ’em sock ’em image. And let’s face it, Cherry has a big ego. Nobody wears outlandish suits like his unless they want attention. He loves the spotlight and this case was no different. The problem for Cherry is that times change, and clearly, he was unaware that people are getting tired of his act.

This is where Ron MacLean comes in. Ron needs to do a better job as Don’s counterpoint. Even he admitted that on Saturday night. I watch Coach’s Corner every Saturday and it can be very entertaining. I agree with much of what Don says. Unfortunately, he often goes too far and it should be Ron’s job to rein him in even if that’s sometimes impossible to pull off.

Perhaps Ron will now be more forceful. The reality is that he must be because Don is now on a short leash. Another full on offensive outburst and he’s probably done. The CBC will be in a fight to keep NHL broadcasting rights. They need the NHL to be on their side. Cherry isn’t helping things and it might be to their benefit, to let him go. I’m sure the folks at league offices are watching this very closely.

A few other observations from this week’s edition of Hockey Night in Canada –

  • Elliotte Friedman had a great interview with Shane Doan for Inside Hockey. He took plenty of ribbing for his horseback riding, but it showed why Elliotte is the best feature reporter in hockey. He’s coming into his own on the iDesk and has added life to that segment.
  • I got my first glimpse of Game Day this weekend. It’s not your traditional hockey show. It had some high points and I think it has some potential. I’m not sure how many people are interested in Michael Buble’s love for the game but it’s a lighter show so it fits in. You can watch Game Day here.
  • Daryl Reaugh did a great job in his HNIC debut. Mark Lee can be quite boring but Razor spiced it up and they had great chemistry. I’d like to see more of Razor during the late game and on After Hours. I think he would be perfect as Scott Oake’s partner. He sort of struggled on After Hours this week but Ryan Nugent-Hopkins wasn’t a very good guest. A better guest will let Razor’s personality shine through.
 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2011 in CBC, NHL, Television

 

4 responses to “Cherry’s Apology & Other Stuff

  1. Jeff Alsey

    October 17, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    Apology or not it’s time for him to go.
    Please read and sign this petition if you want Don Cherry off the Coach’s Corner..and tell your friends!

    http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/cherry-must-leave-the-cbc.html

     
    • paranoidpuck

      October 17, 2011 at 4:45 pm

      I understand that sentiment. I did not write about his comments last week, simply because I didn’t want to feed his ego. He wants the attention. Even this apology puts the spotlight on him.

      That said, if you get past some of Grapes’ more ridiculous statements, he has plenty of good things to say. That’s one reason I’m so conflicted about him. That, and I’ve been watching him my entire life. I doubt I’d be a hockey fan if it wasn’t for HNIC so I’m sympathetic to him and CBC.

       
  2. canadiansportsmedia

    October 18, 2011 at 4:58 am

    I actually thought Elliotte’s interview with Doan was one of his worst. He asked the stupid question that I really hoped nobody would ask “what’s it like playing against the team that drafted you” [facepalm].

     
    • paranoidpuck

      October 18, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      I think he was distracted by the horse. 🙂
      I thought it was a very interesting piece. Since Doan plays in Phoenix, I know very little about him. This feature was successful in that I learned something new about Doan’s life.

       

Leave a Reply

 
